Dark Days Challenge #14

February 20, 2010 at 3:34 pm 3 comments

I’ve neglected to blog about my Dark Days meals for the past few weeks since I was away, but I’m back in the game with #14 – Saturday Lunch consisting of homemade potato leek soup, green salad and side of tofu salad.

The soup I made a while ago and had frozen so after returning home to an empty fridge I decided to thaw it out for the week to come. To make it I used leeks from my garden, organic potatoes from CT Farm Fresh Express, homegrown herbs (thyme, rosemary, parsley, oregano), Starlight Garden garlic.

Salad of Two Guys from Woodbridge Red Butterhead, Old Chatham Sheepherding Company’s Camembert cheese, and croutons I made from some Plasko Farm sourdough bread.

And tofu salad (I’m addicted) from The Bridge.

Entry filed under: My Garden, What's Cookin'. Tags: , , , , , , .

Food Revolution Stuff That Happened While I Was Away…

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. mangochild  |  February 21, 2010 at 6:36 am

    I’ve also been amiss from reporting on DDC meals, things have just gotten so hectic here. Potato leek soup is always a favorite in my home. Good call on thawing it out – I’ve had more than a couple times when I wanted to have a particular soup from my freezer for dinner only to arrive home at night and realize that grabbing it out of the freezer means that dinner will *not* be that soup!

    I’d never heard of Plasko Farm before seeing your post – I’ll have to check it out. Thanks for the pointer. 🙂

    Reply
    • 2. Melissa  |  February 21, 2010 at 12:08 pm

      I LOVE making soups. It’s the one thing I can manage to make well without a recipe! Just keep tasting and adding a little of this or a little of that until it’s perfectly delicious. Anyway, I found Plasko Farm this summer when I was new to this whole local organic scene and researching CT farms. It’s up in Trumbull which is pretty close to me. It’s a cute little farm store with some organic and some not, but almost all local. They have a great bakery which I would frequently get bread from before I started making my own.

      Reply
  • […] after a few weeks away, Melissa is back in the Dark Days game with Saturday lunch. She thawed some homemade leek and potato soup that she’d frozen, and served it with a salad of lettuces, local Camembert and homemade […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Sharing is Caring

Bookmark and Share

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 6 other followers

Twitter Updates


