My Thoughts On Airplane Food

February 19, 2010 at 1:34 pm 1 comment

I love to travel. I’ve been on over a dozen flights in the past few months and there’s one thing that always resonates with me – Why do airlines always offer us so much junk food?  On American Airlines it’s a large container of Pringles or an extra-large chocolate chip cookie. They recently started serving selections from Boston Market as well. Delta offers Twix, chips, and cookies. JetBlue serves free unlimited sugar and carbohydrates in the form of potato chips, heavily salted cashews, and snack mix. And they’re quite the pushers, coming through the aisle several times and asking if I want anything else. When I say “no thank you” I still get an extra bag of cashews on my tray. I suppose the nuts are the healthier option, but all that salt….can’t they just roast them and let them be?

OK so I’m being a bit of a pessimist here and I’m sure some flights do offer more nutritious options, but it would be nice if they were more plentiful. I have seen fruit, but it’s more of the cocktail style, bathing in syrup that is. I suppose the best thing to do is bring my own in flight meal and I do try, however, my penchant for shoes allows little packing space for food. So dear airlines, I would love it if you could provide me with bananas instead of cookies and oranges instead of chips. Thanks.

Entry filed under: Products, Travels. Tags: .

Organic Saturday There’s An App For That

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Gourmet JFK « The Connectivore's Dilemma  |  November 27, 2010 at 9:37 pm

    […] or know me, you know that I travel a lot and am perpetually annoyed by food choices on the road (or in the air). On this particular trip, due to the early departure time, I was armed only with a banana and a […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Sharing is Caring

Bookmark and Share

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 6 other followers

Twitter Updates


