Today I Lost My Whole Foods Virginity

January 7, 2010 at 7:50 pm 2 comments

Oddly enough, I have never been to a Whole Foods store before. I’ve lived in shopping distance from one for a long while, but I guess I just always assumed it was what I call “fake organic” or industrial organic and that everything in the store came from far off places instead of being local. Now there is one in Milford, which is on my way home from work. So tonight I thought I’d check it out. Actually, my main mission was to find some organic whole wheat flour for my ravioli making session this weekend. I entered the store a bit cynical of what I might find. As I walked around the produce section glancing at a plethora of fruit from Central America and vegetables from California I though I had confirmed my preconceived stereotype. I do, however, love that everything was labeled with its origin. I wish every market did this. Just as I was giving up on finding any product that lived up to my standards of local organic I stumbled across some fingerling  potatoes from Kent CT. Then there was lettuce and spinach from Long Island on the opposite wall. Hooray! I’m hoping that during the summer they stock more produce from Connecticut farms. My other purchases included Siggi’s Skyr, local organic chicken sausages, and I of course got some organic whole wheat flour. Overall a successful trip. Then upon leaving the Whole Foods parking lot within the first half mile I drove I passed a Boston Market, Subway, Krispy Kreme, Taco Bell, McDonald’s, Dunkin’ Donuts, Burger King, Moe’s Southwest Grill, Panera, Hometown Buffet, Arby’s, and Starbucks. That makes one healthy choice and 13 unhealthy (and might I add cheaper) options. Food for thought.

Entry filed under: Products. Tags: , , .

Seasonal Food Guide Funny.

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Siggi’s Skyr « The Connectivore's Dilemma  |  January 9, 2010 at 2:07 pm

    […] can imagine my delight when I saw it proudly displayed in the dairy section on my recent trip to Whole Foods. When I got home and tried it I was not disappointed. Creamy, tart, and rich with organic flavor. […]

    Reply
  • 2. Dark Days Challenge #8 « The Connectivore's Dilemma  |  January 9, 2010 at 2:12 pm

    […] 9, 2010 This meal resulted from my recent trip to Whole Foods where I found the sausages and potatoes. It’s my local organic version of bangers and mash! […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Sharing is Caring

Bookmark and Share

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 5 other followers

Twitter Updates


