How My Guest Bedroom Became a Greenhouse

January 5, 2010 at 8:26 pm Leave a comment

What do you do when your first attempt at a cold frame fails? You get grow lights and start an indoor garden!

I got these for Christmas and spent the weekend setting up my new garden. For herbs I have rosemary, thyme, oregano, lots of basil (I like to make my own pesto), tarragon, spearmint, parsley, and cilantro. For veggies I planted sugar snap peas, carrots, parsnips, radish, turnips, scallions, leeks, green beans, cherry tomato, jalapenos, bell peppers, arugula, butterhead lettuce, spinach, and endives. I also have a few avocado trees which we started this summer. A lot of these are in small containers so I know I will have to expand my operation and replant them once they get big enough. It’s a pretty sweet setup for now though. The room is one of the warmest in the house and gets a lot of natural light so hopefully supplementing the lost hours of sunshine during the winter will be enough to encourage growth. I had my husband rig up some 2 x 4’s to support the hanging lights so we didn’t have to put hooks in the ceiling. This way the table is movable and I can disassemble the whole thing come summer. I know I still have some time before anything edible pops up, but at least it’s something to look forward to. Also, I can use this setup to get a head start on my summer garden by growing starter plants to transplant. It’s crazy to think that I’m the same person who up until a few years ago couldn’t even keep a spider plant alive or cook something as simple as french toast.

Entry filed under: My Garden. Tags: , , , .

Chew On This Seasonal Food Guide

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Sharing is Caring

Bookmark and Share

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 6 other followers

Twitter Updates


