New Years Resolution #1: Forage

December 24, 2009 at 12:52 pm 2 comments

I’ve been trying to come up with some resolutions and came up with my fist one last night during a conversation with my father in law Pops. My husband purposely got a deer license this year so we could hunt (or have someone hunt for us) and have venison all year. Growing up in upstate New York venison is something that we both grew up on. I was excited about the prospect of eating meat that I knew roamed free all its life and we shot and butchered ourselves. That was until last night when Pops informed us that deer season ended the day before. Ugh. No venison for us this year.

We continued to talk about hunting and I found out that Pops pretty much knows how to hunt and forage for everything. He told us stories of hunting pheasants and turkeys with his father when he was a boy. He told us about how they used to fish for eels and his mom would make them for dinner frequently. He talked about clamming in Rhode Island, shrimping in the Florida Keys, crabbing at Thompson River NJ. He told us about his successful bass fishing trips at the lake up the road where he and a friend “Killed it”. He claims to have caught 500 bass this year, most of which he threw back because it was simply more that the family could eat. He promised to catch some for us next year after he learned of my interest in seeking out local protein. Then he told us about salmon fishing up near Oswego NY. They go in October and apparently catch 20-30 lb fish that swim all the way upstream from the ocean. The though of eating a 30 lb salmon all year that I caught myself is jest, well,  A.M.A.Z.I.N.G.  So Pops agreed to take us in 2010 and I can’t wait. Aside from the fishing expeditions I’d also like to learn how to forage for other things, like fiddleheads, dandelion greens, and even mushrooms (although I’m a little scared of that last one). So stay tuned throughout the year to hear about my foraging adventures!

Entry filed under: Foraging. Tags: , , , , .

Merry Christmas to Me!

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Russ Cohen  |  February 11, 2010 at 9:52 pm

    Hello – I encourage you to join us for the “Foraging at Fisher Meadows” walk I’ll be leading this spring in Avon, CT. Details will be posted on the web pages of the two co-sponsorsm, the New England Eild Flower Society (http://www.newfs.org) and the Farmington River Watershed Association (http://www.frwa.org). You’ll learn (among many other things) the right way to identify fiddleheads and prepare them for safe and delicious eating.

    Reply
    • 2. Melissa  |  February 12, 2010 at 1:22 pm

      That sounds great! I will check it out and hopefully I can make it!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Sharing is Caring

Bookmark and Share

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 6 other followers

Twitter Updates


